The Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize

Committee Members

Each year, the President of Columbia University in the City of New York appoints a selection committee from among the University faculty, assisted by a panel of internationally known scientists distinguished in the fields of biology, chemistry, biochemistry, and physiology.

Members of the 2018 Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize Committee are:

Gerard Karsenty, MD, PhD, Chair
Paul A. Marks Professor of Genetics & Development;
Chair, Department of Genetics & Development; Professor of Medicine

Riccardo Dalla-Favera, MD

Riccardo Dalla-Favera, MD
Percy and Joanne Uris Professor of Clinical Medicine; Professor, Pathology and Cell Biology,
Genetics & Development, Microbiology and Immunology; Director, Institute for Cancer Genetics


´╗┐Sankar Ghosh, PhD
´╗┐Silverstein and Hutt Family Professor of Microbiology & Immunology; Chair, Department of Microbiology & Immunology


´╗┐Stephen Goff, PhD
Higgins Professor of Biochemistry, Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, Microbiology and Immunology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute


Ellen Lumpkin, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Dermatology, Department of Physiology & Cellular Biophysics


Carol Prives

Carol Prives, PhD
DaCosta Professor of Biology, Department of Biological Sciences


Charles Zuker, PhD
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute