The Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize

Columbia Awards the 2017 Horwitz Prize to Jeffrey I. Gordon, MD

Columbia University announces Jeffrey I. Gordon, MD as the 2017 recipient of the Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize. For more information please visit the announcement from the CUMC Newsroom.

Each year, since its inception in 1967, the Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize has been awarded by Columbia University for outstanding basic research in biology or biochemistry.

The purpose of the prize is to honor a scientific investigator, or group of investigators, whose contributions to knowledge in either of these fields are deemed worthy of special recognition.

Previous Prize Awardees

19672017 list of Recipients of the Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize

A panel of internationally known scientists distinguished in the fields of biology, chemistry, biochemistry, and physiology.

Qualifications for the Prize

The Prize Committee recognizes no geographical limitations. The prize may be awarded to an individual or group. When the prize is awarded to a group, the honorarium will be divided among the recipients, and each member will receive a citation. Preference will be given to work done in the recent past.


The Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize was established under the will of the late S. Gross Horwitz through a bequest to Columbia University and is named to honor the donor's mother. Louisa Gross Horwitz was the daughter of Dr. Samuel David Gross (18051889), a prominent Philadelphia surgeon and author of the outstanding Systems of Surgery, who served as President of the American Medical Association.

The Prize consists of an honorarium and citation that are awarded at a special presentation event. Unless otherwise recommended by the Prize Committee, the Prize is awarded annually.

For more information on the Horwitz lectures and recordings, please visit the Horwitz Prize Lecture Series site. 


Recipient of the Horwitz Prize 2017

Jeffrey I. Gordon, MD
Dr. Robert J. Glaser Distinguished University Professor
Director, Edison Family Center for Genome Sciences and Systems Biology
Washington University School of Medicine

Lecture #1: 
"The Gut Microbiota and Childhood Undernutrition: Looking at Human Developmental Biology from a Microbial Perspective"

Thursday, January 25, 2018
10:00 a.m.
Davis Auditorium (Rm. 412), Schapiro Center (CEPSR)
530 West 120th Street

Lecture #2: 
"The Development of Microbiota-Directed Foods"

Thursday, January 25, 2018
3:30 p.m.
P&S Alumni Auditorium 
650 West 168th Street, first floor