Acute Respiratory Failure

Center for Acute Respiratory Failure

Center for Acute Respiratory Failure
Director, Medical ECMO Program
Daniel Brodie, M.D.

Center for Acute Respiratory Failure
Director, Adult ECMO Program
Matthew Bacchetta, MD

ECMO Attendings
Cara L Agerstrand, M.D.
Darryl C Abrams, M.D.

ECMO Program Manager
Susan Tanzi Pfeifer, MBA

Research Director:
Jahar Bhattacharya, M.D., Ph.D

Senior Clinical Advisor:
Byron Thomashow, M.D.

Senior Leadership:
Neil Schluger, M.D.
Joshua Sonett, MD

To request a transfer:
1-800-NYP-STAT (1-800-697-7828)
For more information about transfers, please visit the patient transfer page

The Center for Acute Respiratory Failure offers state-of-the-art care for adult patients who rapidly develop respiratory failure – typically from acute respiratory distress syndrome, pneumonia, trauma, pulmonary embolism, or flare-ups of chronic lung diseases such as asthma, emphysema or cystic fibrosis.  Our services include cutting-edge forms of mechanical ventilation and other specialized therapies to rescue patients with severe respiratory failure, including sophisticated surgical interventions such as pulmonary embolectomy and pulmonary thromboendarterectomy to appropriate patients with acute pulmonary embolism.  In addition, we are a leading center for research in these advanced therapies.

The most advanced of these interventions is called extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). ECMO acts as a temporary “artificial lung” by pumping blood outside the body into a device that directly infuses oxygen and removes carbon dioxide before returning the blood to the patient.  ECMO is sometimes used during transport to our center for those patients who would otherwise be too sick to be safely transported. 
For more details and the most up-to-date information, please visit


Medical Critical Care Faculty

ECMO Surgeons

    • Matthew Bacchetta, MD
    • Joshua Sonett, MD
    • Mark Ginsburg, MD

Additional ECMO Research Team Members


    • Director of Perfusion: Linda Mongero, CCP
    • Chief Perfusionist: James Beck, CCP
    • Director of Med-Surg Nursing: Vinni Schek, RN, BSN, MPH
    • Patient Care Director, MICU: Patricia Rychcik, RN, BSN, MSN
    • Chief NP: Paul Boerem, ACNP
    • Critical Care Pharmacist: Amy Dzierba, PharmD

Clinical Trials

To learn more about clinical trials, please visit the ECMO clinical trials page of this Web site.