Columbia University Medical Center
In Vivo - The Newsletter of Columbia University Medical Center
Back Issues
Contact Us
In Vivo

ERIC KANDEL, M.D., University Professor, has received an Achievement Award from the Biotech-nology Study Center of the NYU School of Medicine. Dr. Kandel was honored for his analysis of how molecular form follows neural function.

MARY D’ALTON, M.D., Willard C. Rappleye Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at P&S, received an achievement award from the Society for Maternal Fetal Medicine. The award honors Dr. D’Alton for her impact and contributions to the field of maternal fetal medicine and for her outstanding role as a mentor.

ALLAN ROSENFIELD, M.D., dean of the Mailman School of Public Health, has received three awards for his outstanding advocacy and contributions in public health. In March, the Planned Parenthood Federation of America awarded Dr. Rosenfield the Margaret Sanger Award, given to a global leader who embodies the values of reproductive rights pioneer Margaret Sanger. In April, the American Legacy Foundation honored Dr. Rosenfield with its first Legacy Leadership Award for Extraordinary Leadership in Public Health for his work on the group’s anti-tobacco initiatives. Dr. Rosenfield also was named the recipient of the first Public Health Leadership Award by the Coalition for School-based Primary Care for his contributions to the integration of school-based healthcare into the healthcare and education systems.

LARRY ABBOTT, PH.D., professor of physiology and cellular biophysics at P&S, and MICHAEL ELLIS GOLDBERG, M.D., the David Mahoney Professor of Brain & Behavior in the Department of Neurology have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences for 2006.

STEPHEN GOFF, PH.D., professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics at P&S and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

ALLAN FORMICOLA, D.D.S., who is vice dean of the Center for Community Health Partnerships at CUMC, in March was named “Hero” by Community Voices: Healthcare for the Underserved, a national W.K. Kellogg Foundation initiative. Dr. Formicola received the award for his vision, leadership and commitment to eliminating disparities in health and healthcare.

ELAINE LARSON, PH.D., has been elected to the Society of Scholars at Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Larson is the first nurse to receive the honor from the university’s board of trustees.

LAUREEN B. ZICCARDI, D.D.S., M.D., associate professor of clinical dentistry in the division of operative dentistry at the College of Dental Medicine, and alumnus VINCENT B. ZICCARDI, D.D.S., who is on the faculty at New Jersey Medical School, have been selected to join the American Dental Education Association’s leadership institute, which develops dental faculty into leaders in dental and higher education.

DONALD QUEST, M.D., J. Lawrence Pool Professor of Neurological Surgery at P&S, has been named president of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS). He was installed at the April AANS meeting in San Francisco.

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) has named WILLIAM N. LEVINE, M.D., director of sports medicine at CUMC, to its Leadership Fellows Program. The program’s goal is to inspire new Academy fellows to take on leadership roles within the AAOS and in orthopedics.

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Society of General Internal Medicine has awarded its Clinician-Investigator of the Year award to OLVEEN CARRASQUILLO, M.D., M.P.H., assistant professor of medicine and health policy and management. Dr. Carrasquillo, also director of CUMC’s Center for the Health of Urban Minorities, was recognized for his research on minority health and health disparities.

The Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center has awarded a Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award to RYAN PHAN, PH.D., a recent graduate of the Integrated Program in Cellular, Molecular and Biophysical Studies. Dr. Phan completed his doctoral thesis in the Institute of Cancer Genetics and Department of Pathology. He is a postgraduate fellow in the Department of Genetics at Harvard Medical School. Columbia students have received the award for the last four of the five years in which it has been given. Recipients, who hail from around the world, presented their work at an awards symposium in May.

ANN MARIE SCHMIDT, M.D., Gerald and Janet Carrus Professor of Surgical Science at P&S, and VIVETTE D’AGATI, M.D., professor of pathology at P&S, have been elected to the American Association of Physicians. Each year, 55 leaders in American medicine are elected to the association, which gives them the opportunity to share scientific discoveries with colleagues at the group’s annual meeting.

Crain’s New York Business has named KATHIE-ANN JOSEPH, M.D., M.P.H., assistant professor of surgery at P&S, one of its “40 Under 40” rising stars. Dr. Joseph joined the Breast Surgery Section of the Division of General Surgery at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital in 2003 and has been recognized for her unique approach to fighting breast cancer.

The College of Dental Medicine has named JOSEPH CICCIO JR., D.D.S., the 2006 recipient of the Alumni Medal for Meritorious Service. Dr. Ciccio received both his doctor of dental surgery degree and orthodontics certificate from Columbia, and his bachelor’s in bioengineering from Columbia University’s School of Engineering and Applied Science. He has served as a volunteer faculty member in orthodontics, president of the Orthodontic Alumni Association, and officer and president of the Association of Dental Alumni.

The School of Nursing has been named a 2006 Computerworld Laureate in the categories of medicine and education for its innovative use of personal digital assistants in the advanced practice nursing curriculum. SUZANNE BAKKEN, R.N., AND MOSELY CHAZAR, user services consultant, will accept the award on behalf of the research team for the NINR-funded project, ”Mobile Decision Support for Advanced Practice Nurses.” The medal ceremony and gala celebration will take place in Washington, D.C. in June.


The Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation has awarded JOYCE LUSTBADER, PH.D., a senior research scientist in the department of Obstetrics and Gynecology a $100,000 Innovation Grant for her work involving the vascular endothelial growth factor, which has been identified as a factor that stimulates key cells to heal wounds in cell cultures.

STEPHEN H. TSANG, M.D., PH.D., assistant professor of clinical ophthalmology at P&S, has received a grant from the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.