Columbia University Medical Center
In Vivo - The Newsletter of Columbia University Medical Center
Back Issues
Contact Us

In Vivo

Awards & Honors

ANDREW MARKS, M.D., the Wu Professor of Molecular Cardiology and Chairman of the Department of Physiology, has received a five-year, $6 million grant from Fondation Leducq to fund his work, "Research Calcium Cycling and Novel Therapeutic Approaches for Heart Failure." The grant was made under the Transatlantic Networks of Excellence program. The mission of the Fondation Leducq is to improve human health through international efforts to combat cardiovascular disease. In addition, Dr. Marks and IVA S. GREENWALD, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, were among the 72 new elected members of the National Academy of Sciences. 

Nobel laureate RICHARD AXEL, M.D., University Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, has been awarded a Doctor of Philosophy degree from Bar Ilan University in Ramat Gan, Israel, in recognition of his contribution to the field of molecular biology. Dr. Axel also received an award from the Louise T. Blouin Foundation for his contributions to creativity. The Blouin Foundation seeks to raise awareness of how culture and creativity can help resolve global issues.

Four CUMC faculty members have been named Irving Scholars. The recipients of the three-year $60,000 annual awards are SANJA JELIC, M.D., assistant professor of clinical medicine; ANDREW JOE, M.D., assistant professor of medicine; LAUREL MAYER, M.D., assistant professor of clinical psychiatry; and DAVID OWENS, Ph.D., assistant professor of dermatology. Longtime CUMC benefactors Herbert and Florence Irving started the Scholars program in 1987 to recognize the critical importance of training young clinical investigators.

Several faculty in the Department of Medicine's Division of Endocrinology have received recent honors. ETHEL SIRIS, M.D., the Madeline S. Stabile Professor of Clinical Medicine, has been elected president of the National Osteoporosis Foundation, the largest and most prominent advocacy group in the United States for osteoporosis. ELIZABETH SHANE, M.D., professor of clinical medicine, has been named president-elect of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research, the largest research organization for bone diseases in the world. CAROLYN BECKER, M.D., assistant clinical professor of medicine, has been named vice president of the Endocrine Society, the largest and most active professional organization of endocrinologists in the world.

The Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation has awarded the SCHOOL of NURSING $948,000 to develop national standards for the clinical doctorate in nursing. Columbia's Doctor of Nursing Practice degree is the first clinical doctoral program in the country that prepares nurses for complex advanced practice. Establishing standards for Doctor of Nursing Practice competencies nationwide is fundamental to the safe and successful expansion of the degree.

BURTON EDELSTEIN, D.D.S., M.P.H., professor of dentistry and public health and Chairman of the Section of Social and Behavioral Sciences, has been awarded the Public Advocacy Award by the friends of the National Institute for Dental and Craniofacial Research. Dr. Edelstein also has been awarded the American Dental Association Presidential Citation for contributions to dental education and the oral health of the public, as well as the Chicago Dental Society Cushing Award for raising public awareness about oral health.

ALWYN COHALL, M.D., associate professor of clinical sociomedical sciences and population and family health at the Mailman School of Public Health and associate professor of clinical pediatrics, is one of three pediatricians who received the 10th Annual HIV leadership Award, sponsored by Dr. Cohall, also an associate attending in pediatrics at NYPH, received the award for his work to improve the lives of young people in New York.

MOTOR NEURON DISEASE RESEARCHER RECEIVES NYSTAR AWARD Christopher Henderson, Ph.D., assistant professor of pathology, joined the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior on May 1, where he will help found a new Center for Motor Neuron Biology and Disease. CUMC was able to recruit Dr. Henderson with help from a Joshua Toas, deputy executive director, NYSTAR, presenting Dr. Henderson with a plaque, Dr. Henderson, and Gerald Fischbach, M.D., executive vice president and dean.$250,000 grant from the New York State Office of Science, Technology and Academic Research (NYSTAR). Dr. Henderson's lab will strenghten interactions between basic scientists and clinicians on campus interested in the motor neuron diseases amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and spinal muscular atrophy (SMA). Pictured above from left: Joshua Toas, deputy executive director, NYSTAR, presenting Dr. Henderson with a plaque, Dr. Henderson, and Gerald Fischbach, M.D., executive vice president and dean.