Columbia University Medical Center
In Vivo - The Newsletter of Columbia University Medical Center
Back Issues
Contact Us

In Vivo

Awards & Honors

As part of its Molecular Libraries initiative, the NIH has awarded $9 million to James Rothman, Ph.D., director of the Judith P. Sulzberger M.D. Columbia Genome Center and Clyde and Helen Wu Professor of Physiology, to establish a Molecular Libraries Screening Center at Columbia University.

The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation's Grand Challenges in Global Health initiative awarded Richard Axel, M.D., University Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics and Pathology, $5 million to build on the knowledge of insects' sense of smell to develop safe, effective, and low-cost mosquito repellants to reduce malaria transmission.

Joyce Anastasi, Ph.D., the Helen F. Pettit Professor of Clinical Nursing, was awarded funds from the NIH's National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine for her study, "Acupuncture/Moxabustion for Peripheral Neuro-pathy in Patients with HIV." This raises Dr. Anastasi's 2005 award level to $3.2 million.

Suzanne Bakken, D.N.Sc., Alumni Professor of Nursing, was awarded $1 million from the NIH's National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) for her study, "Mobile Decision Support for Advanced Practice Nursing."

Mary Byrne, Ph.D., professor of clinical nursing, received supplemental funding from NINR for her study, "Maternal and Child Outcomes of a Prison Nursery Program."

Bruce Link, Ph.D., professor of epidemiology and of sociomedical sciences at the Mailman School of Public Health, was one of five Columbia faculty members who received this year's Presidential Teaching Award.

The American Foundation for AIDS Research presented an Award of Courage to Theresa McGovern, J.D., assistant professor of clinical population and family health at Mailman, for her role in the fight against AIDS.

Riccardo Dalla-Favera, M.D., director of the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center and the Percy and Joanne Uris Professor of Genetics and Development and Pathology, was awarded the 2005 American-Italian Cancer Foundation Prize for Scientific Excellence in Medicine.

Gilbert Di Paolo, Ph.D., assistant professor of pathology, received a Charles J. Epstein Down Syndrome Research Award from the National Down Syndrome Society.

Peter Gouras, M.D., professor of ophthalmology, received a doctorate degree honoris causa from the University of Athens.

Dennis A. Mitchell, D.D.S, assistant professor of clinical dental and oral surgery and assistant dean for diversity and multicultural affairs, received the 2005 NDAF/Colgate Faculty Recognition Award.

Saleem Josephs '06 was one of 40 medical and dental students selected by the American Medical Student Association to attend the Primary Care Leadership Training Program.

CoSMO, a student-led primary care practice that serves uninsured adults, was awarded a $20,000 grant from the Caring for the Community program of the Association of American Medical Colleges and the Pfizer Medical Humanities Initiative.

The EPA's first annual Children's Environmental Health Excellence Award was awarded to the Columbia Center for Children's Environmental Health.