Columbia University Medical Center
In Vivo - The Newsletter of Columbia University Medical Center
Back Issues
Contact Us

In Vivo


Mitchell C. Benson, M.D., the George F. Cahill Professor of Urology, has been named chairman of the Department of Urology. He was previously interim Director of the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center and interim chairman of urology.

Jonathan Aviv, M.D. professor of otolaryngology/head and neck surgery and medical director of the Voice and Swallowing Center at CUMC, was named president of the American Broncho-Esophagological Association.

Kathleen Crowley, M.P.H., has been appointed to the newly created position of associate vice president, Environmental Health and Safety/Environmental Health and Radiation Safety.

Howard Kaufman, M.D., associate professor of clinical surgery, has been named the Edwin C. and Anne K. Weiskopf Associate Professor of Clinical Surgical Oncology (in Surgery and in the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center).

Freya Schnabel, M.D., associate professor of clinical surgery, has been appointed the Vivian Milstein Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery.

Sarah Caddick, Ph.D., a neuroscientist, has been appointed executive director of the newly formed Columbia Neuroscience Institute.

Deborah Stiles has been named vice president for research operations for Columbia University. Ms. Stiles, an expert in corporate law, came to Columbia from the law firm of Debevoise & Plimpton.