Columbia University Medical Center
In Vivo - The Newsletter of Columbia University Medical Center
Back Issues
Contact Us
In Vivo

THOMAS Q. MORRIS, M.D., a former president of Presbyterian Hospital and interim dean of P&S, whose Columbia career spanned more than 50 years, has been named chairman of the board of trustees of the New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM). EDWARD H. SHORTLIFFE, M.D., PH.D., chairman of biomedical informatics, has been appointed vice chairman of the NYAM board. The following P&S faculty have been elected NYAM fellows: LEE GOLDMAN, M.D., executive vice president and dean; James J. Cimino, M.D., professor of medicine-general medicine and pro- fessor of biomedical informatics, and CAROL FRIEDMAN, PH.D., professor of biomedical informatics.

IRA B. LAMSTER, D.D.S., M.M.SC., dean of the College of Dental Medicine, has been named by the New York State Dental Foundation to a position on the Foundation’s Board of Directors. The Foundation supports numerous public projects in oral health throughout the state.

The American Heart Association honored RALPH SACCO, M.D., professor of neurology and epidemiology, associate chair of neurology and director of the Division of Stroke and Critical Care, for his work as a team leader for its annual HeartWalk. The event supports the association and the American Stroke Association. EDISON SABALA, project coordinator for the Northern Manhattan Family Study in the Division of Stroke and Critical Care, received an award for the most money raised by a single fundraiser; and LAURA EVENSEN, research coordinator in the Division of Stroke and Critical Care received an award for her work as a company leader. About 50 CUMC employees from the division, along with colleagues in critical care, emergency medicine and cardiology, raised more than $25,000.

The Ladies Home Journal has established the DR. MARIANNE J. LEGATO GENDER-SPECIFIC MEDICINE AWARD and has named Dr. Legato, founder and director of the Partnership for Gender-Specific Medicine at Columbia University, its first recipient. Dr. Legato, professor of clinical medicine and medical adviser to the Ladies Home Journal, was given this first Health Breakthrough Award in August in recognition of her “life-saving and life-enhancing discoveries in research, diagnostics and treatment – with results that have significantly helped women and families.”

ANDREW BLITZER, M.D., D.D.S., professor of clinical otolaryngology, attending physician at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital and Roosevelt Hospital, and director of the New York Center for Voice and Swallowing Disorders, received the Chevalier Jackson Award from the American Bronchoesophagological Association. Dr. Blitzer was honored for his contributions to the art and science of laryngology and bronchoesophagology.

Postdoctoral fellows JEFFREY C. LIU, M.D.; MARK G. SHRIME, M.D.; SCOTT M. RICKERT, M.D.; AND PAUL E. JOHNSON, M.D., were the winners of the Sixth Annual Residents Research Competition. The awards were presented by the Department of Otolaryngology/ Head and Neck Surgery and the Weill/Cornell University Medical Center.

MING ZHOU, PH.D., assistant professor in the Department of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics, has been named a Pew Scholar by the Pew Charitable Trusts and the University of California, San Diego. Dr. Zhou will conduct research on the physiology of ion channel modulation.

HANNAH WUNSCH, M.D., M.SC., a postdoctoral fellow in anesthesiology, has won the Young Investigator Award from the American Society of Critical Care Anesthesiology for her paper, “Increased Mortality Associated with Acute Hypoxic Respiratory Failure of Extra-Pulmonary Origin.”