Columbia University Medical Center
In Vivo - The Newsletter of Columbia University Medical Center
Back Issues
Contact Us
In Vivo

KRISTINE GEBBIE, RN, DR.P.H., the Elizabeth Standish Gill Associate Professor of Nursing at the School of Nursing has been named to the Health Policy Advisory Committee for Governor-elect Eliott Spitzer’s transition office. The policy advisory committees are composed of a diverse group of leading experts and thought leaders from throughout the state. They will advise the governor-elect, lieutenant governor-elect and the transition team on the major challenges facing the state.

The American Society of Human Genetics gave the William Allan Award to DOROTHY WARBURTON, PH.D., professor of clinical genetics and development, at its annual meeting in October. Dr. Warburton received the award for her pioneering work in the field of cytogenetics. Dr. Warburton directed the CUMC Cytogenetics Laboratory for 35 years and taught medical students, residents, graduate students and genetic counseling students.

The Institute of Medicine – part of the National Academies – has elected four CUMC faculty members to its membership, one the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health. The four join 44 other Columbia faculty in this distinction. The faculty members are SUZANNE BAKKEN, RN, FAAN, DNSC, alumni professor of nursing in the school of nursing, and professor of biomedical informatics in P&S and the School of Nursing; BETTY A. DIAMOND, M.D., chief of rheumatology and Dorothy L. and Daniel H. Silberberg Professor of Medicine, and professor of microbiology at P&S; SHERRY A. GLIED, PH.D., professor and chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Mailman School of Public Health; and STEPHEN P. GOFF, PH.D., Higgins Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, professor of microbiology, and investigator in the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at P&S.

NANCY WEXLER, Ph.D., Higgins Professor of Neuropsychology in Psychiatry, Neurology and in the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine's governing council for 2007-2009. The council has responsibility for the IOM's governance.

JEREMY MAO, D.D.S., PH.D., associate professor in the College of Dental Medicine and the Department of Biomedical Engineering, has been named associate editor of “Stem Cells and Development,” a journal that focuses on stem cells of all tissue types and their potential therapeutic applications.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science has elected seven CUMC faculty as new fellows. They include: BETTY DIAMOND, M.D., the Dorothy L. and Daniel H. Silberberg Professor of Medicine, professor of microbiology, and chief of rheumatology: LLOYD A. GREENE, PH.D., professor of pathology in the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior; BARRY HONIG, PH.D., professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics; THOMAS M. JESSELL, PH.D., Claire Tow Professor of Motor Neuron Disorders in Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, Center for Neurobiology and Behavior; HOWARD B. LIEBERMAN, PH.D., professor of radiation oncology; CAROL A. MASON, PH.D., professor of pathology in the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior; and, CONSTANCE NATHANSON, PH.D., professor of clinical sociomedical sciences in the Mailman School of Public Health.

RICCARDO DALLA-FAVERA, M.D., the Uris Professor of Pathology and Genetics and Development, and the director of the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center has received the William Dameshek Prize from the American Society of Hematology for his outstanding contribution to hematology.

Several CUMC faculty members have been given top awards from NARSAD, an organization dedicated to the scientific research of psychiatric disorders. JEFFREY A. LIEBERMAN, M.D., chair of psychiatry and director of the Lieber Center for Schizophrenia Research in the Department of Psychiatry, has been honored with the Lieber Prize for Schizophrenia Research. DAVID SHAFFER, M.D., chief of the child and adolescent psychiatry division, will share the Ruane Prize for Childhood Psychiatric Disorders Research with David A. Brent, M.D., of the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. LORNA ROLE, PH.D., professor of anatomy and cell biology, received the Sidney R. Baer Prize for Promising Psychiatric Research. Dr. Role is also the recipient of a 2007 McKnight Neuroscience of Brain Disorders Award for research on schizophrenia.


GERARD KARSENTY, M.D., PH.D., was appointed as the first incumbent of the Paul Marks Professor in the Basic Sciences

ANTHONY W. FERRANTE, M.D., PH.D., was appointed the Dorothy L. and Daniel H. Silberberg Assistant Professor of Medicine

PAUL S. APPELBAUM, M.D., was appointed the Elizabeth K. Dollard Professor of Psychiatry, Medicine and Law

JEFFREY LIEBERMAN, M.D., was appointed the Lawrence C. Kolb Professor of Psychiatry