Columbia University Medical Center
In Vivo - The Newsletter of Columbia University Medical Center
Back Issues
Contact Us
In Vivo


LAURENCE ABBOTT, PH.D., has been appointed William Bloor Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience (in Physiology and Cellular Biophysics) (in the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior). The professorship was made possible through the generous support of the William J. Matheson, Jr. Foundation. The Foundation honors Mr. Bloor, who in his career worked only for Columbia University and ended his university service as treasurer. He was instrumental in acquiring properties at both the Morningside and Health Sciences campuses, such as property for the Audubon Research Park. He was also instrumental in developing the Bard Haven tower apartment complex.

THOMAS JESSELL, PH.D., has been appointed the Claire Tow Professor of Motor Neuron Disorders (in Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics) in the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior, a newly established professorship. A longtime supporter of Columbia University who was appointed to the medical center’s Board of Visitors in 2004, Leonard Tow received his M.A. in 1952 and his Ph.D. in 1960 from Columbia. He is the former chairman and chief executive officer of Citizens Communications. Mr. Tow and his wife, Claire, have supported numerous Columbia programs. The Claire Tow Professorship is the initial part of the Tow’s generous $15 million commitment to the Center for Motor Neuron Biology and Disease.

LEILA MEI PANG, M.D., has been appointed the Ngai Jubilee Associate Professor of Anesthesiology. This professorship fund was established to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Department of Anesthesiology and also honors the late Shih-hsun Ngai, Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology, a founding member of the department who also was its second chairman.

JANET SPARROW, PH.D., has been appointed the Anthony Donn Professor of Ophthalmic Science and Professor of Pathology. Anthony Donn, M.D., was chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology from 1989 to 1995. His tenure as chairman capped an illustrious career at Columbia that lasted more than 35 years, during which time he made numerous pioneering advances, and earned particular renown as an ophthalmologic surgeon. The professorship was established with gifts from many of his former patients and colleagues.


ANGELA CHRISTIANO, PH.D., has been appointed the Richard and Mildred Rhodebeck Professor of Dermatology.

PAUL MCCORMICK, M.D., has been named the Herbert and Linda Gallen Professor of Clinical Neurological Surgery.


SERGE PRZEDBORSKI, M.D., PH.D., Professor of Neurology and Pathology (in the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior), who previously was the William Black Professor of Neurology, will now hold the Page and William Black Professor of Neurology. The Board of Trustees modified the named professorship to better reflect Mr. Black’s intentions and to recognize his wife’s contributions to Columbia. Page Morton Black is chairman of the Parkinson’s Disease Foundation, which was founded by her late husband, William Black, the founder and president of Chock Full O’ Nuts. Mr. Black also established the William Black Medical Research Building.