Columbia University Medical Center
In Vivo - The Newsletter of Columbia University Medical Center
Back Issues
Contact Us
In Vivo

Suzanne Bakken, DNSc, R.N., Alumni Professor, School of Nursing and professor of biomedical informatics in P&S, was named the 100 most distinguished alumni of the UCSF School of Nursing.

Stanley Chang, M.D., the Edward S. Harkness, K.K. Tse and Ku Teh Ying Professor and chairman of ophthalmology, was awarded the 2006 Hobie Award by the NY State Ophthalmological Society, recognizing achievements in ophthalmic research, resident training and patient care.

Gilbert Di Paolo, Ph.D., assistant professor of pathology, received the Charles J. Epstein Down Syndrome Research Award from the National Down Syndrome Society.

Howard F. Fine, M.D., a postdoctoral clinical fellow in ophthalmology, was one of four graduating retinal fellows in the United States to receive the 2006 Ronald G. Michels Fellowship Award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Barry Honig, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics, HHMI investigator and director, Center for Computational Biology and Bioinformatics, in April will receive the Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics for pioneering and theoretical and computational studies of electrostatic interactions in biological macromolecules and of the energetics of protein folding.

Anne Gershon, M.D., professor of pediatrics, is president-elect of the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Jay A. Gingrich, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of clinical psychiatry, was awarded the Roche-Nature Medicine Prize for Translational Medicine in recognition of outstanding research in developmental neuroscience and behavior.

Madelyn Gould, PH.D., M.P.H., professor of clinical epidemiology in psychiatry, received the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention’s Research Award for her contributions to understanding of suicide and its prevention.

Ziv Haskal, M.D., professor, radiology and surgery, was elected fellow of the American College of Radiology.

Joshua E. Hyman, M.D., assistant professor of orthopedic surgery, was inducted into the Orthopaedic Honor Society.

William Levine, M.D., associate professor of clinical orthopedic surgery, was named deputy editor of the shoulder and elbow section of the Journal of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons.

William Macaulay, M.D., associate professor of clinical orthopedic surgery, was elected to the Interurban Society and the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons.

Jeremy Mao, DDS, Ph.D, associate professor in the College of Dental Medicine, has been named associate editor of Stem Cells and Development, a journal that focuses on stem cells of all tissue types and their potential therapeutic applications.

Jacqueline Merrill, R.N., M.P.H., D.N.Sc., associate research scientist in biomedical informatics, was awarded a two-year Pfizer fellowship in July to develop network analysis techniques for public health organizations.

Philip Muskin, M.D., professor of clinical psychiatry, has received the Distinguished Life Fellow Award from the American Psychiatric Association.

Michael M. Myers, M.D., and William P. Fifer, M.D., professors of clinical psychiatry, received the First Candle/SIDS Alliance Research Award.

Steve Nicholas, M.D., professor of clinical pediatrics in P&S and clinical population & family health in Mailman, won a 2006-2007 Fulbright Scholarship to the Dominican Republic for his project, “The Prevention of Mother-to-Baby HIV Transmission.”

Carl A. Olsson, M.D., the John K. Lattimer Professor of Urology and chairman emeritus of urology, received the Boston University Alumni Award, that university’s highest honor. Dr. Olsson graduated from BU’s medical school.

Richard Polin, M.D., professor of pediatrics and director of the Division of Neonatology, received the Neonatal Education Award in Perinatal Pediatrics from the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Deans of the Association of Schools of Public Health (ASPH), voted unanimously to rename the ASPH/Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Global AIDS Fellowship Program for Allan Rosenfield, M.D., dean of the Mailman School. The program will now be known as the Allan Rosenfield Global Health Fellows.