7th Annual Neurosurgery Charity Softball Tournament

Neurosurgeons from 20 top medical institutions competed in Central Park in June at the seventh annual neurosurgery charity softball tournament hosted by Columbia University to benefit pediatric brain tumor research. The Barrow Neurological Institute claimed its first championship in the tournament.

Columbia has won the tournament – and the trophy, the J. Lawrence Pool Memorial Trophy in honor of a former Columbia neurosurgery chair – three times. For the seventh consecutive year, George M. Steinbrenner III and the New York Yankees sponsored the tournament on a day New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg declared “Neurosurgery Charity Softball Tournament Day.”

In future years, Columbia will join with the American Association of Neurological Surgeons to expand the tournament and support a pediatric neurooncology research fellowship. Next year’s tournament will host 24 teams from across the United States and Canada.

neurosurgery softball tournament