PreviousUpNext SearchFeedback[help] CPMCnet

P&S Journal

P&S Journal: Fall 1997, Vol.17, No.3
P & S News
Prizes and Awards

Dr. Harold Varmus Lynn Collins'97 and her daughter, 2-month-old Phoenix Elizabeth Collins-Sadriyoun, in a cap and gown custom-made by her grandmother. A one-year sabbatical and a family practice career are in Dr. Collins' future. In the baby's future: more napping (and possibly a full-sized P&S cap and gown?)
Dr. Harry S. Altman Award (outstanding achievement in pediatric ambulatory care)
Claire Henchcliffe

Alumni Association Award (outstanding service to P&S)
Andrew Rose Watson
Ann Marie Carrasquillo

Virginia P. Apgar Awards (excellence in anesthesiology and intensive care)
Sacha D. Matthews
Richard Christopher Romero

Michael H. Aranow Memorial Prize (best exemplifying the caring and humane qualities of the practicing physician)
Drew Anthonie Helmer

Herbert J. Bartelstone Award (exceptional accomplishments in pharmacology)
Surani R. Fernando

Alvin Behrens Memorial Fund Award (outstanding graduate entering ophthalmology)
John Tyler Hwang Mandeville

Robert G. Bertsch Prize (emulating Dr. Bertsch's ideals of the humane surgeon)
David Arthur D'Alessandro Jr.

Coakley Memorial Prize (outstanding achievement in otolaryngology)
Michelle Lynne Caruso

Titus Munson Coan Prize (best essay in biological sciences)
Kevin T. Merrell

Thomas F. Cock Prize (excellence in obstetrics and gynecology)
Tamara Cochran Takoudes

Rosamond Kane Cummins'52 Award (graduate entering orthopedics with academic excellence, sensitivity, kindness, devotion to patients, and the fine human qualities she exemplified)
John William Aldridge

Dean's Award for Excellence in Research: Graduate School of Arts and Sciences at P&S
Rong Jiang
Lawrence Shapiro

Gate Pharmaceuticals' Award (excellence in family medicine or obstetrics and gynecology)
Zenobia Poynter Brown

Frederick P. Gay Memorial Award (achievement in microbiology)
Kevin T. Merrell

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Award (demonstrated compassion, scientific excellence, devoted patient care, and a humanistic role model)
Ellen Kelly Ritchie

Dr. Charles F. Hamilton Award (excellence in pulmonary disease)
Jean-Luc Sebastien Neptune

Janeway Prize (the highest achievement and abilities in the graduating class)
Kimberly Worth McCrudden

Albert B. Knapp Scholarship (awarded at the conclusion of the third year to the medical student with highest scholarship in first three years)
Jeffrey R. Rubel

Dr. Harold Lamport Biomedical Research Prize (excellence in research)
Tammy N. Tsuchida

John K. Lattimer Prize in Urology (outstanding essay in urology)
Kimberly L. Cooper

Barbara Liskin Memorial Award in Psychiatry (empathy, scholarship, and excellence exhibited by Barbara Liskin)
Jenny Osborne Meyer

Robert F. Loeb Award (excellence in clinical medicine)
Piotr S. Sobieszczyk

F. Lowenfish Prize in Dermatology (creative research in dermatology)
Kathryn Elizabeth Frew

Admiral David Willard Lyon Award (outstanding academic achievement by a student serving in the U.S. armed forces)
Alexander W. Lesko

Dr. Cecil G. Marquez, B.A.L.S.O. Student Award (outstanding contribution to the Black and Latin Student Organization and the minority community)
Duane L. Russell

Edith and Denton McKane Memorial Award (outstanding research in ophthalmology)
James Banks Shepherd

Medical Society of the State of New York Award (outstanding community service)
Derek N. Mattimoe

Drs. William Nastuk, Beatrice Seegal, and Konrad Hsu Award (demonstrated successful laboratory collaboration between student and faculty)
Min Cheung

Marie Nercessian Memorial Award (exhibiting care, unusual concern, and dedication to helping sick people)
Delphine Sarah Taylor

New York Orthopedic Hospital Award (outstanding performance in research and clinical work)
Brett Lawrence Wasserlauf

Joseph Garrison Parker Award (exemplifying, through activities in art, music, literature, and the public interest, that living and learning go together)
Drew Anthonie Helmer

Samuel W. Rover and Lewis Rover Awards (for outstanding achievement) in: Anatomy and Cell Biology--
Andrew Willis

Genetics and Development--
Rong Jiang

Physiology and Cellular Biophysics--
Charles P. Richards

Rebecca A. Schwartz Memorial Prize (achievement in pediatric cardiology)
Lindsay Acheson Thompson

Helen M. Sciarra Prize in Neurology (outstanding achievement in neurology)
Claire Henchcliffe

Aura E. Severinghaus Scholar (superior academic achievement)
John Lance Perez

Miriam Berkman Spotnitz Award (excellence in research of neoplastic diseases)
Aileen M. Cleary

William Perry Watson Prize in Pediatrics (excellence in pediatrics)
David F. Markel

Dr. William Raynor Watson Memorial Award (excellence in psychiatry throughout four years of medical school)
Andrew Stephen Bennett

Dr. Allen O. Whipple Memorial Prize (outstanding performance in surgery)
John D.F. Allendorf

Sigmund L. Wilens Prize (excellence in pathology)
Kimberly Worth McCrudden

copyright ©, Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center

[Go to start of Document]