PreviousUpNext SearchFeedback[help] CPMCnet

P&S Journal

P&S Journal: Fall 1995, Vol.15, No.3
Commencement 1995

Commencement Ceremonies
M.D. degrees were presented to 159 students in commencement ceremonies May 17. Ph.D. degrees were awarded to 46 students.

The Commencement speaker was Dr. Robert Coles'54, author and Harvard research psychiatrist. Dr. Coles told graduates and their families about a 6-year-old girl who was his patient in 1960. As the first black student to be integrated into the school system in New Orleans, she was jeered each day as she entered the school building, but she persevered and even prayed for her tormentors.

Dr. Coles, intrigued by the girl, set out to discover what gave the child energy and toughness. When he asked her why she prayed for the people who were unkind to her, she asked, "Don't you think they need praying for?"

Her response taught him forgiveness. "Let us continue to learn from our patients," he told the graduates. "It's a long trek and we must learn to heal and to be healed by those we try to help and to forgive and embrace each other and march on."

P&S Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Dr. Henrik H. Bendixen, professor emeritus of anesthesiology, and Dr. David B. Sprinson'46 (Ph.D.), professor emeritus of biochemistry and molecular biophysics.

Charles W. Bohmfalk Awards were presented to Dr. Herbert S. Chase, associate professor of clinical medicine (pre-clinical years), and Dr. Jay H. Lefkowitch'76, professor of clinical pathology (clinical years).

The Joseph Mather Smith Prize was presented to Dr. Paul A. Marks'49, president of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and former vice president of health sciences and dean of the Faculty of Medicine.

The Stevens Triennial Prize was awarded to Dr. Eric R. Kandel, University Professor and professor of psychiatry, of physiology and cellular biophysics, and of biochemistry and molecular biophysics (in the Center for Neurobiology & Behavior).

The Dr. Harold and Golden Lamport Research Awards were given to Dr. Aneel K. Aggarwal, assistant professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics (basic sciences), and Dr. Benjamin Tycko, assistant professor of pathology (clinical sciences).

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Award was presented to Dr. John N. Schullinger'55, professor of clinical surgery.

The Class of 1995 Distinguished Teacher Award was given to Dr. Andrew L. Wit'68 (Ph.D.), professor of pharmacology.

copyright ©, Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center

[Go to start of Document]