Honors and Awards

Steve Kernie, MD (Critical Care) was awarded a 2 year NIH grant for $440k for his project entitled, "Therapeutic enhancement of neurogenesis following traumatic brain injury."

Susan Rosenthal, PhD (Child and Adolescent Health) was appointed to the AAMC new Council of Faculty and Academic Societies. This Council, which will represent faculty’s voice within the AAMC leadership structure, will replace the current Council of Academic Societies on July.

Kara Gross Margolis, MD’s (GI, Hepatology and Nutrition) was elected Council member for the North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition (NASPGHAN).

Sivan Kinberg, MD, (fellow, GI, Hepatology and Nutrition) has been awarded a slot on the National Library of Medicine post-doctoral training grant in bioinformatics. She will earn a Master's degree in informatics and both her stipend and tuition will be fully funded.

Amy Xu (student, mentor Paul Planet, MD, PhD) won 2nd prize of $1,500 in the INTEL ISEF Science competition for her project entitled, “Evolutionary and Ligand-binding Dynamics of ClfB and IsdA in Staphylococcal Species”. She also won $400 for placing 5th in the American Society of Microbiology Competition at the same event.

Christine Lauren, MD (Assistant Professor of Clinical Dermatology and Clinical Pediatrics, mentor Dr. Planet) was selected by the Society for Pediatric Dermatology's (SPD) Awards & Goals Committee as one of three 2013 Pilot Project Award recipients based on her submission on "Development of a topical antibiogram for staphylococcus aureus and other cutaneous isolates in pediatric patients with atopic dermatitis."

Gina Coscia, MD (fellow, Pulmonology) is the recipient of the Thrasher Research Fund Early Career Award and will receive a grant in the amount of $26,750 (June 1, 2013 – May 31, 2015) for her project entitled, "Novel microbial detection techniques in pediatric patients with Cystic Fibrosis: The role of viral infection."

Aviva Sopher, MD (Endocrinology) was awarded the TRANSFORM K12 Award from the CTSA/Irving Institute to carry out her research entitled: “Effect of metformin on insulin resistance, non-alcoholic fatty liver disease and body composition in nonobese adolescents with polycystic ovary syndrome.”