Honors and Awards

Wendy Chung, MD, PhD and Dorothy Warburton, PhD (Clinical Genetics) were awarded an NIH/NHLBI grant for their project entitled, “Molecular approaches to gene identification in congenital heart disease.” They are co-principal investigators of the project. Dr. Chung has also asked to give the 2014 CUMC Dean’s Distinguished Lecture in Clinical Sciences.

Alwyn Cohall, MD’s (Child & Adolescent Health) program Project STAY (Services to Assist Youth) received an award from the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene in commemoration of World AIDS Day, for outstanding service to both high-risk youth and those living with HIV/AIDS in NYC. http://projectstaynyc.org/

Matt Crystal, MD and Dina Ferdman, MD (Cardiology) are both recipients of awards from the foundation Colin’s Kids. Dr. Crystal’s award will fund his work on the mechanisms of pulmonary vein stenosis and pharmacological mechanisms to relieve stenosis. Dr. Ferdman’s award is for her research involving right ventricular function in fetuses.

David Evans, PhD (Pulmonology) been awarded a two-year $276,143 grant from the Department of Health's Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response. The grant is for his project entitled, “Assessing and Strengthening Post-Storm Resilience in NYC High Rise Public Housing.” The project’s goal is to assess how residents of high-rise public housing have responded to the impact of Hurricane Sandy, and to develop tools to improve residents’ preparedness for future climate events or other building emergencies.

The North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition has elected Sarah Lusman, MD to the Education Committee, Nadia Ovchinsky, MD to the Hepatology Committee, Julie Khlevner, MD to the Endoscopy Committee, Mercedes Martinez, MD to the International Committee, Esi Lamouse-Smith, MD, PhD to the Research Committee, and Neera Gupta, MD as Chair of the Research Committee. Kara Margolis, MD was selected to serve on the Awards Committee and Joel Lavine, MD, PhD was appointed to the Nominations Committee.

Kara Gross Margolis, MD (GI, Hepatology & Nutrition) was elected Councilor and member of the Governing Board for the North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition for a three-year term.

Neera Gupta, MD (GI, Hepatology & Nutrition) received a grant from Abbott Nutrition to fund the CUMC Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease Quarterly Series, including the 2nd Annual CUMC Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease Research Day. Dr. Gupta was invited to serve a second, three-year term on the editorial board of the journal Inflammatory Bowel Diseases.

Jamie Harrington, MD (Postdoctoral Residency fellow) is the recipient for the American Academy of Pediatrics research grant for her study, "Can serial echocardiography be used for early detection of cardiac abnormalities in children with sickle cell disease?" Her mentors were Margaret Lee, MD from Hematology and Usha Krishnan, MD from Cardiology.