Honors and Awards

Julie Glickstein, MD (Pediatric Cardiology) and Mariellen Lane, MD (Child and Adolescent Health) have been accepted into the Virginia Apgar Academy of Medical Educators at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. The Academy is dedicated to promoting, rewarding, and supporting outstanding education for our medical students, residents, fellows, and faculty. Membership represents recognition of excellence as an educator and commitment to contributing to the educational life of our medical community.

Anne Armstrong-Coben, MD (Child and Adolescent Health) has been nominated for the 2013 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award, presented by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) with the support of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. Members of the Organization of Student Representatives at our medical school submitted the nomination on her behalf. The recipient of the award will be recognized during the November 2013 AAMC Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, PA. Dr. Armstrong-Coben was also selected as a faculty “Cloaker” for the White Coat Ceremony for the Columbia P&S Class of 2017.

Emilio Arteaga-Solis, MD (Pulmonology) was elected to membership in the Society for Pediatric Research.

David Bell, MD (Child and Adolescent Health) has been invited on behalf of the ICPD Beyond 2014 Coordination Secretariat and the Gender, Human Rights, and culture Branch of the Technical Division, UNFPA, to participate in a Dialogue on Men, Masculinities and Sexual and Reproductive Health.

Julia Glade-Bender, MD (Hematology/Oncology/SCT) was awarded a five-year grant from Alex’s Lemonade Stand entitled, “Columbia University Developmental Therapeutics Program: Striving for Excellence.” Dr. Glade-Bender and the Pediatric Oncology Team at Columbia University Medical Center were nominated for the “BEST CARE Community Award 2014” by the Satmar Bikur Cholim. She was honored at an event on January 29th at the Bais Rochel Paradise Ballroom in Monroe, NY.

Erika Berman Rosenzweig, MD (Cardiology) has been invited to be a member of the Board of Trustees of the Pulmonary Hypertension Association.

Gary M. Brittenham, MD (Hematology/Oncology/STC), in collaboration with the Laser Research Laboratory, University of Munich, Munich, Germany, has received a $952,417 grant for the project, "ZnPP fluorometer for non-invasive detection of iron deficiency," from Nestec, Ltd., Vevey, Switzerland. Dr. Brittenham is the principal investigator of the project.

Steve Caddle, MD (Child and Adolescent Heath) received the Humanitarian Award from the Association pour le Developpement de Fort-Liberte et ses Environs (ADFE) at a gala in December 2013. The award honored him for his time and contribution to Haiti’s children, especially those in the city of Fort-Liberte.