Honors and Awards

The CHALK program is being highlighted on the AAP Community Pediatrics/Healthy Tomorrows Website. See the link: http://www2.aap.org/commpeds/Spotlights/Spotlight-CHALK.pdf

Dr. Meenakshi Rao (GI, Hepatology and Nutrition) received a grant in the amount of $57,734 by the NIDDK for her project entitled, “The role of glial cells in the enteric nervous system.”

Dr. Elena Ladas (Hematology, Oncology & SCT) received a $25,000 one year grant from the Rally Foundation for her project entitled, “Dietary Intake in Children with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia.”

Dr. Darrell Yamashiro (Hematology, Oncology & SCT) received a two year award from Hyundai for $250,000 beginning January 1, 2015.

Louis Z. Cooper, MD, Professor Emeritus, Pediatrics, received a Special Achievement Award from the Measles and Rubella Initiative of the American Academy of Pediatrics. Dr. Cooper was recognized for his work on rubella and congenital rubella syndrome that led to elimination of the disease in the United States.

Shan Zha, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pathology and Pediatrics, in the Institute for Cancer Genetics, received $315,000 over one year from the Irma T. Hirschl Trust for “Target ATM Mutation for Cancer Therapy.”

Dr. Adam Ratner (Infectious Diseases) was awarded a grant in the amount of $449,930 by the NIH for his project entitled, “DNase for Prevention of Reproductive Tract Infections in Pregnancy.”

Julie Glickstein, MD (Pediatric Cardiology) and Mariellen Lane, MD (Child and Adolescent Health) have been accepted into the Virginia Apgar Academy of Medical Educators at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. The Academy is dedicated to promoting, rewarding, and supporting outstanding education for our medical students, residents, fellows, and faculty. Membership represents recognition of excellence as an educator and commitment to contributing to the educational life of our medical community.