Center for Health Policy "Nurse Leaders in Politics", Darlene Curley

Nurses Currently Serving in the 112th Congress:

Congresswoman Karen Bass (D-CA-33)
Karen Bass is the U.S. Representative for California's 33rd congressional district. She has been selected by Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi to serve on the prestigious Steering and Policy Committee which sets the policy direction of the Democratic Caucus. Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer of Maryland appointed Bass to serve as an Assistant Whip.

Prior to her serving as the current Representative for CA-33rd, Karen Bass made history when the California Assembly elected her to be its 67th Speaker, catapulting her to become the first African American woman in the country to serve in this powerful state legislative role.

Congresswoman Diane Black (R-TN-06)
As a small business owner, former educator and registered nurse for over 40 years, Congressman Diane Black brings a unique perspective to her work in Washington.

From starting two family-owned businesses, Black understands how to balance a budget, invest and hire new employees and grow a company without the help of government. From her work in the health care field, Black learned first-hand the importance of high-quality care and the obstacles faced by both patients and providers. She began her career as an emergency room nurse, but also served as a long-term care nurse and worked as part of an outpatient surgery team.

Congresswoman Ann Marie Buerkle (R-NY-25)
Ann Marie Buerkle is a life-long Central New Yorker who proudly represents the people of New York State's 25th Congressional District. She was elected to the United States House of Representatives in the 2010 general election and took the oath of office on January 5, 2011.

She graduated from St. Joseph's Hospital School of Nursing as a Registered Nurse in 1972 and went to work in New York City's Columbia Presbyterian Hospital. In 1977, she graduated from Le Moyne College with a Bachelor of Science degree.

Congresswoman Lois Capps (D-CA-23)
During her 20-year tenure as a nurse and health advocate for the Santa Barbara School District, thousands of Santa Barbara's children and families benefited from Capps' personal care and leadership. As director of Santa Barbara County's Teenage Pregnancy and Parenting Project and the Parent and Child Enrichment Center, Capps gave countless young parents the support and encouragement to stay in school while providing them with critical child development skills to ensure their children grow up in healthy, loving environments. Capps also taught for 10 years as a part-time instructor of Early Childhood Education at Santa Barbara City College.

Capps now draws on this extensive healthcare background as founder and co-chair of the House Nursing Caucus. She also serves as co-chair of the Congressional Heart and Stroke Coalition, the House Cancer Caucus, the Congressional School Health and Safety Caucus, National Marine Sanctuary Caucus, as well as the House Democratic Task Force on Health and Sustainable Energy and Environment Coalition.

Congresswoman Renee Ellmers (R-NC-02)
Renee Ellmers was born in Ironwood in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. When she was a child her family moved to Madison Heights, near Detroit, where her father took a job in the auto industry. He worked with General Motors until he retired.

After graduating from Madison High School, needing to work her way through college, Renee trained as a Medical Assistant. For the next eight years, working full and part-time jobs, she attended Oakland University, graduating with a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing. A year later, working as a Surgical Intensive Care Nurse at Beaumont Hospital she met her husband, Brent, a graduate of the University Of Indiana School Of Medicine.

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX-30)
Congresswoman Johnson studied nursing at St. Mary's College at the University of Notre Dame. She returned to Texas when she successfully passed the National Board Examination in Nursing. She later became Chief Psychiatric Nurse at the VA Hospital in Dallas and received a bachelor's degree in nursing from Texas Christian University in 1967. She received a master's degree in public administration from Southern Methodist University in 1976. Congresswoman Johnson is the first nurse to be elected to the U.S. Congress.

Congresswoman Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY-04)
A lifelong resident of Mineola, Congresswoman McCarthy has over 30 years experience as a nurse. Congresswoman McCarthy married Dennis McCarthy in 1967 and they raised one son, Kevin. Carolyn has two grandchildren, Denis and Grace, by Kevin and his wife Leslie.

Carolyn McCarthy is the first Congresswoman from Long Island and is included in Newsday's 100 Long Island Influentials, Long Island Business News's Long Island Top 50, Congressional Quarterly's 50 Most Effective Legislators, Redbook Magazine's Mothers and Shakers and the Ladies' Home Journal 100 Most Important Women.


2010-2011 Nurse State Legislators and State Administrative Leaders (AL-WY)

ALABAMA
none
ALASKA
Sen. Catherine A. Giessel
ARIZONA
none
ARKANSAS
Rep. Sandra Prater
9202 Sayles Road
Jacksonville, AR  72076
Tel: 501.988.0695
praters@arkleg.state.ar.us
CALIFORNIA
none
COLORADO
Sen. Lois Tochtrop, RN
Colorado House of Representatives
200 E. Colfax, Room 305
Denver, CO 80203
Tel: 303.866.4863
lois.tochtrop.senate@state.co.us
CONNECTICUT
Rep. Lenny Winkler, LPN
Connecticut House of Representatives
Legislative Office Bldg, Room 3001
Hartford, CT 06106
Tel: 860.240.8700
lenny.winkler@housegop.state.ct.us
Rep. Peter Tercyak, RN
150 Belridge Road
New Britain, CT 06053
Tel: 860.240.8585
peter.tercyak@po.state.ct.us
DELAWARE
Sen. Bethany A. Hall-Long
Legislative Hall Office
P.O. Box 1401
Dover, DE  19903
Tel: 302.744.4351
bethany.hall.long@state.de.us
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
none
FLORIDA
Rep. Denise Grimsley, RN
Florida State Legislature
402 South Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL  32399-1300
Tel:  850.488.3457
denise.grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Daphne B. Campbell, RN
Capitol Office
1401 The Capitol
402 South Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1300
Phone: (850) 488-4233
GEORGIA
Rep. Sharon Cooper
Chair, House Health &
Human Services Committee
463 State Capitol
Atlanta, GA 30034
Tel: 404.656.0314
sharon.cooper@house.ga.gov
HAWAII
no updated information available
IDAHO
none
ILLINOIS
none
INDIANA
Sen. Patricia Miller, RN
Indiana Senate
State House
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Tel: 317.232.9489
s32@ai.org
IOWA
Rep. Linda Upmeyer, RN, NP
State Representative House
State Capitol
Des Moines, IA 50319
Tel: 641.422.7807
linda.upmeyer@legis.state.ia.us
KANSAS
Rep. Jill Quigley, RN
State Capitol
Room 173-W
Topeka, KS 66612
Tel: 785.296.7689
jill.quigley@house.ks.gov
jill@jillquigley.com
KENTUCKY
Rep. Mary Lou Marzian, RN
Kentucky House of Representatives
State Capitol Annex-Room 313A
Frankfort, KY 40601
Tel: 502.564.8100, ext. 643
marylou.marzian@lrc.state.ky.us
LOUISIANA
Rep. Tom Willmott, JD, RN
Louisiana House of Representatives
2002 20th Street
Suite 204-A
Kenner, LA 70062
Tel: 504.465.3479
willmott@legis.state.la.us
MAINE
Rep. Anne C. Perry
District 131*
474 South Street
Calais, ME 04619
Tel: 207.454.7338
*Representing Baileyville, Baring, Calais, Charlotte, Passamaquoddy Indian Township, Passamaquoddy Pleasant Point, Perry and Robbinston, plus part of the unorganized territory of North Washington
Rep. Gary A. Connor
District 140*
10 Patterson Drive
Kennebunk, ME 040403
Tel: 207.985.5799
*Arundel, Dayton, part of Kennebunk and part of Lyman
MARYLAND
Del. Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, RN
Maryland House of Delegates
Lowe House Office Bldg., Room 309
Annapolis, MD 21401
Tel: 410.841.3350
shirley_nathan_pulliam@house.state.md
Del. Geraldine Valentino-Smith, RN
Maryland House of Delegates
House Office Building, Room 209
6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
Tel: 410. 841.3101
geraldine.valentino@house.state.md.us
MASSACHUSETTS
Rep. Christine Canavan, RN
Massachusetts House of Representatives
State House – Room 146
Boston, MA 02133
Tel: 617.722.2575
rep.christinecanavan@hou.state.ma.us
Rep. Mary E. Grant, RN
Massachusetts House of Representatives
State House – Room 236
24 Beacon Street
Boston, MA 02133
Tel: 617.722.2430
rep.marygrant@hou.state.ma.us
MICHIGAN
no updated information available
MINNESOTA
Rep. Karen C. Clark, RN
Minnesota House of Representatives
471 State Office Bldg.
100 Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155
Tel: 651.296.0294
rep.karen.clark@house.leg.state.mn
Rep. Maria Ruud, RN, CNP
Minnesota House of Representatives
515 State Office Bldg.
100 Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155
Tel: 651.296.3964
rep.maria.ruud@house.mn
Rep. Patti Fritz, LPN
Minnesota House of Representatives
551 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Bvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155
Tel. 651.296.8237
rep.patti.fritz@house.mn
Sen. Sharon Erickson Ropes, RN
Minnesota Senate
75 Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
Capitol Bldg. Room G-24
St. Paul, MN 55155-1606
Tel: 651.296.5649
sen.sharon.erickson.ropes@senate.mn
MISSISSIPPI
Rep. Frances Fredricks, LPN
Mississippi House of Representatives
New Capitol
P.O. Box 1018
Jackson, MS 39215
Tel: 601.359.2429
ffredricks@mail.house.state.ms.us
Rep. Rebecca Nelms Currie, RN
Mississippi House of Representatives
P.O. Box 1018
Jackson, MS 39215
Tel: 605.359.2429
bcurrie@house.ms.gov
MISSOURI
Rep. Rebecca McClanahan, MSN, RN
MO House of Representatives
201 West Capitol Avenue
Room 101A
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Tel: 573.751.4042
Fax: 573.522.6055
rebecca.mcclanahan@house.mo.gov
Rep. Jeanne Kirkton, CRNA
MO House of Representatives
201 West Capitol Avenue
Room 135BC
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Tel: 573.751.1285
Fax: 573.522.9394
jeanne.kirkton@house.mo.gov
MONTANA
Rep. Teresa Henry, ANP
Montana House of Representatives
P.O. Box 200400
Helena, MT 59620-0400
Tel: 406.444.4800
Sen. Carolyn Squires, LPN
Montana Senate
P.O. Box 200500
Helena, MT 59620-0500
Tel: 406.444.4800
sqigs@msn.com
Rep. Cynthia Hiner, RN
Montana House of Representatives
P.O. Box 200400
Helena, MT 59620-0400
Tel: 406.444.4800
Rep. Arlene Becker, RN
Montana House of Representatives
P.O. Box 200400
Helena, MT 59620-0400
Tel: 406.245.7256
arlene_becker@yahoo.com
NEBRASKA
none
NEVADA
Sen. Bernice Martin Mathews
(former RN)

Nevada Senate
401 S. Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89710
Tel: 775.684.1433
bmathews@sen.state.nv.us
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Rep. Barbara C. French, RN
New Hampshire House of Representatives
State House
Concord, NH 03301
Tel: 603.428.3366
Rep. Anne Laurie Harding, RN
56 Jenkins Road
Lebanon, NH 03766-2003
Tel: 603.448.5206
lharding@valley.net
Rep. Joan Schulze
11 Spencer Drive
Nashua, NH 03062-2406
Tel: 603.888.3380
joan1schulze@cs.com
Rep. Charlotte Houde-Quimby
P.O. Box 95
Meriden, NH 03770-0095
Tel: 603.469.3205
cquimby@tds.net
Rep. Rich Dipentima
16 Dunlin Way
Portsmouth, NH 03801-7308
Tel: 603.559.9765
rich.dipentima@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Alida Millham
426 Belknap Mtn. Road
Gilford, NH 03249-6814
Tel: 603.524.1278
amillham@metrocast.net
Rep. Carla Skinder
465 East Road
Cornish, NH 03745-4433
Tel: 603.542.6065
carla.skinder@leg.state.nh.us
Sen. Peggy Gilmour
126 Depot Road
Hollis, NH 03049
Tel: 603.271.3569
peggy.gilmour@leg.state.nh.us
NEW JERSEY
Assemblywoman Mila Jasey
(D.27)
15 Village Plaza, Suite 1B
South Orange, NJ 07079
Tel: 973.762.1886
Assemblywoman Nancy Munoz
(R.21)
57 Union Pace, Suite 310
Summit, NJ 07901
Tel: 908.918.0414
NEW MEXICO
none
NEW YORK
Assem. Aileen Gunther, RN
New York State Assembly
Legislative Office Building, Room 435
Albany, NY 12248
Tel: 518.455.5355
gunthea@assembly.state.ny.us
Sen. Ruth Hassel‑-Thompson
New York Senate
Legislative Office Building, Room 612
Albany, NY 12248
Tel: 518.455.2061
hassellt@senate.state.ny.us
NORTH CAROLINA
none
NORTH DAKOTA
none
OHIO
Sen. Sue Morano, RN
Senate Building
Room #056, Ground Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Tel: 614.644.7613
senatormorano@maild.sen.state.oh.us
OKLAHOMA
Rep. Willam "Will" Fourkiller, RN
Oklahoma Capitol
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Room 5108
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Tel: 405.557.7394
will.fourkiller@okhouse.gov
OREGON
Sen. Laurie Monnes-Anderson, RN
Oregon Capitol
900 Court Street, NE, H-390
Salem, OR 97301
Tel: 503.986.1450
rep.lauriemonnesanderson@state.or.us
PENNSYLVANIA
Sen. Patricia H. Vance
Room B16
Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120.2020
Tel: 717.787.5935
pvance@pasen.gov
RHODE ISLAND
none
SOUTH CAROLINA
none
SOUTH DAKOTA
Rep. Susy Blake, LPN
2516 Clarkway Drive
Sioux Falls, SD 57105
Tel. 605.224.2206
Rep. Martha Vanderlinde, RN
320 N. Western #2
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Tel: 605.201.7424
TENNESSEE
Rep. JoAnne Favors, RN
2441 Meade Circle
Chattanooga, TN 37406
Tel; 615.741.2702
Fax: 615.253.0351
joanne.favors@legislature.state.tn.us
Sen. Diane L. Black, RN
Tennessee Senate
305 War Memorial Building
Nashville, TN 37243.0218
Tel: 615.741.1999
Fax: 615.253.0207
sen.diane.black@legislature.state.tn.us
TEXAS
Rep. Donna Howard, BSN
Texas House of Representatives
Capitol Office
Room E2.810
P.O. Box 2910
Austin, TX 78768
Tel: 512.463.0631
Fax: 512.463.0901
donna.howard@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Susan King, RN
Texas House of Representatives
Capitol Office
Room E2.416
PO Box 2910
Austin, TX 78768
Tel: 512.463.0718
Fax: 512.463.0994
susan.king@house.state.tx.us
UTAH
Rep. Becky Lockhart, BSN, RN
Utah House of Representatives
State Capitol
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Tel: 801.377.7428
blockhart@utah.gov
Sen. Margaret Dayton, BSN, RN
United States Senate
W115 Capitol Complex
Salt Lake City, UT 54114
Tel: 801.538.1035
mdayton@utahsenate.org
VERMONT
Sen. Sara B. Kittell
Vermont State
437 Chester Arthur Road
Fairfield, Vermont 05455
Tel: 802.827.3274
skittell@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kathleen Keenan, RN
Vermont House of Representatives
8 Thorpe Avenue Street
Albans, VT 05478 524-5013
Tel: 802.524.1037
kkeenan@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Claire Ayer
504 Thompson Hill Road
Weybridge, VT 05753
Tel: 802.828.2241
cayer@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kristy Spengler
Vermont State House
115 State Street, Drawer 33
Montpelier, VT 05633-0001
Tel: 802.828.2228
seashore@msn.com
Sen. Matthew A. Choate
86 Cliff Street
St. Johnsbury, VT 05819
Tel: 802.748.2629
mchoate@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Anne T. O'Brien
2406 Hinesburg Road
Richmond, VT 05477
Tel: 802.434.4250
aobrien@leg.state.vt.us
VIRGINIA

Delegate Rosalyn R. Dance, RN
General Assembly Building
P.O. Box 406
Richmond, VA 23218
Tel: 804.698.1063
delrdance@house.state.va.us

VIRGIN ISLANDS
none
WASHINGTON
Rep. Tami Green, RN
Washington House of Representatives
327 John L. O'Brien Bldg.
Olympia, WA 98504-0600
Tel. 360.786.7958
green_ta@leg.wa.gov
Sen. Rosemary McAuliffe
Washington Senate
402 A John A. Cherberg Building
P.O. Box 40482
Olympia, WA 98504
Tel: 360.786.7600
mcauliffe_ro@leg.wa.gov
Sen. Margarita Prentice, RN
Washington Senate
419 John A. Cherberg Building
P.O. Box 40482
Olympia, WA 98504
Tel: 360.786.7616
prentice_ma@leg.wa.gov
Sen. Cheryl A. Pflug, RN
Washington Senate
102 Newhouse Building
P.O. Box 40405
Olympia, WA 98504-0405
Tel: 360.786.7608
pflug_ch@leg.wa.gov
Rep. Eileen L. Cody, RN
Washington House of Representatives
State Capitol
337 John L. O'Brien Building
Olympia, WA 98504
Tel: 360.786.7978
cody_ei@leg.wa.gov
Rep. Judy Clibborn, RN
Washington House of Representatives
315 John L. O'Brien Bldg,
PO Box 40600
Olympia, WA 98504-0600
Tel: 360.786.7926
clibborn_ju@leg.wa.gov
WEST VIRGINIA
Del. Barbara A. Hatfield
West Virginia House of Delegates
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.
209 E, Building 1
Charleston, WV 25305
Tel: 304.340.3140
hatfield@mail.wvnet.edu
WISCONSIN
Sen. Judith B. Robson,
MSN, RN (D)

2441 E. Ridge Road
Beloit, WI 53511
Tel: 608.266.2253
sen.robison@legis.state.wi.us
Rep. Leah Vukmir,
MSN, RN, CPNP (R)

State Capitol
P.O. Box 8953
Madison, WI 53708
Tel: 608.266.9180
rep.vukmir@legis.state.wi.us
Rep. Sandy Pasch, MSN, RN
Room 122 North
State Capitol
P.O. Box 8953
Madison, WI 53708
Tel: 608.266.7671 or 888.534.0022
rep.pasch@legis.wisconsin.gov
WYOMING
Leslie Nutting, RN, APRN
4921 Phoenix Drive
Cheyenne, WY  82001
lnutting@wyoming.com
Norine Kasperik, RN, MSN
664 Par Drive
Gillette, WY  82718
nkasperik@bresnan.net

TOP