Fifth national award for nurse from CUSON informatics program

Yet another nurse associated with CUSON’s informatics program has been honored for writing the scientific paper judged to have made the greatest contribution to advancing nursing informatics.

Sarah Collins, PhD, RN, a 2009 CUSON graduate now in clinical informatics research and development at Partners HealthCare System, Wellesley, Mass., was named the winner of the Harriet H. Werley Award at the American Medical Informatics Association annual meeting in Washington, DC.

Dr. Collins, the first graduate of CUSON’s PhD program, is the 5th person from the CUSON informatics program to be so honored. Previous winners are program director Suzanne Bakken, DNSc, RN, FAAN, FACMI, Professor of Medical Informatics; Leanne M. Currie, DNSc, RN, now Associate Professor of Nursing at the University of British Columbia; Sookyung Hyun, DNSc, RN, now Assistant Professor of Nursing and Bioinformatics at the Ohio State University; and Patricia Dykes, DNSc, RN, CUSON’s first nursing informatics doctoral graduate, now at Partners HealthCare system, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Boston. (Photo caption) Dr. Collins (third from right), pictured at the AMIA annual meeting with Dr. Bakken (center) and current and former CUSON informatics trainees (from left) Dr. Yalini Senathirajah, Dr. Barbara Sheehan, Dr. Sunmoo Yoon, Dr. Po-Yin Yen, Vicky Tiase, and Young-Ji Lee.


617 West 168th Street
New York, NY 10032

© 2011 Columbia University School of Nursing | ACCESSIBILITY | VISITING CUSON
Columbia University | Columbia University Medical Center