CUMC Home | Columbia University | Jobs at CUMC | Contact CUMC | Find People
     
For support: call extension 5-Help (212-305-4357) or email us
 
 

CUMC IT eSupport Remote Assistance - FAQs

How does this service work?
Once you connect to the service, you are prompted to download a small, self-installing plug-in, which allows your support representative to view your desktop and share control of your mouse and keyboard. At any time during a support session, you can take control of your computer just by moving your mouse. You will be in charge at all times.

Can my support representative look through files without my knowledge?
Absolutely not. Your representative sees only what you see and whatever you permit him or her to see on your computer screen. Before your support representative views your screen, he or she will first ask your permission and request that you close all documents containing private information.

How is security maintained?
At the beginning of a screen-sharing session, you and your support representative are connected via a communication server. The screen data that is passed between you and your support representative during a session is highly compressed using proprietary technology that can be viewed only with GoToAssist software. This data is also encrypted using 128-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) encryption. Privacy principles are TRUSTe compliant. After the session has ended, your support representative can no longer see your screen or access your computer unless you make another explicit request for support.

What are the minimum requirements for my computer and Internet connection?
For your support representative to view your desktop, your computer should meet these requirements:
  • Stable Internet connection (at least 64 Kbit/s) with cable modem ISDN, DSL or better. Most home and business connections meet the minimum.
  • Computer running Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000 or Mac OS 10.5 or later
  • Internet Explorer 8.0 or later, Mozilla Firefox 12.0 or later or Safari 6.0 or later
Is the plug-in virus free?
Yes, the plug-in is safe. We're as concerned as you are about this issue, so regular virus checks and updates are conducted. This helps us maintain our technology at the highest standard to ensure superior quality service. The warning message you might see on your screen is a default message displayed by your browser when you download executable files. You can feel confident using this plug-in.

Are there any files or folders left on my computer after the session ends?
The downloaded file stays on your computer; however, the file is useless without a new "encryption key." To download a new encryption key, you would need to initiate a subsequent session with a support representative. Screen-sharing sessions have to be initiated by you, not a support representative.

Return to eSupport Remote Assistance Form

| TOP |

Last updated 10/16/2015