CUMC Home | Columbia University | Jobs at CUMC | Contact CUMC | Find People
Columbia University Medical Center logo,Positioning Line Discover. Educate. Care. Lead., image for New York Skyline  

The Dean's Lecture Series
Alexander Ming Fisher Lecture

Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Basic Sciences

The Cartwright Lecture

Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Clinical Sciences

David Seegal Alpha Omega Alpha Visiting Professorship Lecture

Heidelberger-Kabat Lecture

Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Humanities
past events

Innovation in Biological and Medical Sciences Distinguished Lecture

Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize Lecture

Samuel Rudin Distinguished Visiting Professorship Lecture

Thomas Q. Morris Symposia

Other Special Lectures and Events

Previous lectures:

Lecture Videos



Dean's Distinguished Lecture in

the Humanities

The Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series was founded at the College of Physicians & Surgeons in 1981 to provide a forum and formal vehicle for interdisciplinary academic exchange in the basic sciences, clinical sciences, and humanities. The lectures are designed to emphasize the cross-collaborative nature of scientific inquiry and to enrich the traditional scholarly exchange between the health sciences faculties, the other branches of Columbia University, and the metropolitan New York medical community—all while honoring the school's fundamental responsibility to maintain the highest standards of humanistic education.

Over the past thirty five years, we have been fortunate to have as speakers some of the world's leading basic scientists, clinicians, and humanistic scholars, all of whom have made significant and outstanding contributions to their respective fields. Yet, as expert as all of these speakers are in their areas of specialization, they have been able to bring their thoughts and experiences to life for those outside their traditional academic disciplines—some of whom ultimately have found new ways to advance this knowledge at the intersection of the arts and sciences.

Through the Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series, we look forward to continuing our tradition of bringing together students, professors, researchers and clinicians in the spirit of true intellectual curiosity and academic cooperation—sowing the seeds, perhaps, for the next great breakthrough discovery or cure in the process.

Available Videos:
Speaker: Rita Charon, MD, PhD
Lecture Date: April 27, 2017
Lecture Title: “The Shock of Attention: Art, Science, Creativity, and Doubt”

2017-2018 EVENTS

Kellie Jones, PhD

"Women in the Dreamwork: Recent Research"

Kellie Jones, PhD
Associate Professor of Art History and Archeology
Institute Research Fellow,
Institute for Research in African American Studies
Columbia University

Wednesday, April 18, 2018
4:30 p.m.
Clyde and Helen Wu Auditorium
Room 201
104 Haven Avenue

Dr. Kellie Jones is associate professor of art history and archaeology at Columbia University and a research fellow with Columbia’s Institute for Research in African-American Studies . Dr. Jones also has worked as a curator for more than three decades and has curated many major national and international exhibitions . In 2016 she was named a MacArthur Foundation Fellow. Her latest book, South of Pico: African American Artists in Los Angeles in the 1960s and 1970s (Duke University Press) was named a Best Book of 2017 by Artforum and a Best Art Book of 2017 by The New York Times.

back to top


2016-17: Rita Charon
2015-16: Amale Andraos
2014-15: Brian Greene
2013-14: Pamela H. Smith
2012-13: Mark C. Taylor
2011-12: Sylvia Nasar
2007-08: David Freedberg
2005-06: Andrew Delbanco
2003-04: Jonathan Cole
2002-03: Jeffrey Sachs
2001-02: Eric Foner
2000-01: Edward W. Said
1999-00: Robert E. Pollack
1998-99: Kenneth Jackson
1997-98: Jack Greenberg
1996-97: George Rupp
1995-96: David N. Cannadine
1994-95: Simon A. Schama
1993-94: James H. Beck
1992-93: Osborn Elliott
1991-92: Henry F. Graf
1990-91: Fred Friendly
1989-90: Howard Shanet
1988-89: Zbigniew Brzezinski
1987-88: Louis Henkin
1986-87: Barbara Aronstein Black
1985-86: Robert Merton
1984-85: Edith Porada
1983-84: David Rothman
1982-83: Harriet Zuckerman
1981-82: Fritz Stern

back to top

CUMC Home | © Columbia University | Affiliated with New York-Presbyterian Hospital | Comments | Text-Only Version