CUMC Home | Columbia University | Jobs at CUMC | Contact CUMC | Find People
Columbia University Medical Center logo,Positioning Line Discover. Educate. Care. Lead., image for New York Skyline  

The Dean's Lecture Series
Alexander Ming Fisher Lecture

Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Basic Sciences

The Cartwright Lecture

Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Clinical Sciences
past events

David Seegal Alpha Omega Alpha Visiting Professorship Lecture

Heidelberger-Kabat Lecture

Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Humanities

Innovation in Biological and Medical Sciences Distinguished Lecture

Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize Lecture

Samuel Rudin Distinguished Visiting Professorship Lecture

Thomas Q. Morris Symposia

Other Special Lectures and Events

Previous lectures:

Lecture Videos



Dean's Distinguished Lecture

in the Clinical Sciences

The Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series was founded at the College of Physicians & Surgeons in 1981 to provide a forum and formal vehicle for interdisciplinary academic exchange in the basic sciences, clinical sciences, and humanities. The lectures are designed to emphasize the cross-collaborative nature of scientific inquiry and to enrich the traditional scholarly exchange between the health sciences faculties, the other branches of Columbia University, and the metropolitan New York medical community—all while honoring the school's fundamental responsibility to maintain the highest standards of humanistic education.

Over the past thirty six years, we have been fortunate to have as speakers some of the world's leading basic scientists, clinicians, and humanistic scholars, all of whom have made significant and outstanding contributions to their respective fields. Yet, as expert as all of these speakers are in their areas of specialization, they have been able to bring their thoughts and experiences to life for those outside their traditional academic disciplines—some of whom ultimately have found new ways to advance this knowledge at the intersection of the arts and sciences.

Through the Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series, we look forward to continuing our tradition of bringing together students, professors, researchers and clinicians in the spirit of true intellectual curiosity and academic cooperation—sowing the seeds, perhaps, for the next great breakthrough discovery or cure in the process.

Available Videos:
Speaker: Domenico Accili, MD
Lecture Date: October 20, 2016
Lecture Title: “The New Biology of Diabetes”

2016-2017 EVENTS

Timothy C. Wang, MD

"Cancer: An Aberrant Response by Stem Cells to Injury"

Timothy C. Wang, MD
Dorothy L. and Daniel H. Silberberg Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Digestive and Liver Diseases
New York Presbyterian/Columbia University Medical Center

Tuesday, September 12, 2017
4:30 p.m.
P&S Alumni Auditorium
650 West 168th Street, First Floor

Reception to follow at the Faculty Club 630 West 168th Street, fourth floor

Timothy C. Wang is the Dorothy L. and Daniel H. Silberberg Professor of Medicine, chief of the Digestive & Liver Diseases at Columbia University Medical Center (CUMC), and director of the GI Cancer Program at CUMC. He received his BA from Williams College and his MD from the Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons. He has led an independent research lab for more than 25 years focused on the relationship between inflammation, stem cells and cancer, and the molecular mechanisms of gastrointestinal carcinogenesis. Author of more than 250 publications, he has headed up numerous multidisciplinary research programs, including the CUMC NCI U54 Tumor Microenvironment (TMEN) program, the CUMC Barrett's Esophageal Translational Research Network (BETRNet) program, and the Intestinal Stem Cell Consortium (ISCC) at Columbia. He is recipient of a Merit Award (R37) from NIDDK and the Outstanding Investigator Award (R35 OIA) from the NCI, and the Arthur and Irene Fishberg Prize for outstanding research from CUMC. He is currently president of the American Gastroenterology Association (AGA) Institute.

back to top


2015-16 - Domenico Accili
2014-15 - Megan Sykes
2013-14 - Wendy Chung
2012-13 - Siddhartha Mukherjee
2010-11 - David P. Roye
2008-09 - Angela M. Christiano
2007-08 - Donald W. Landry
2005-06 - David A. Brenner
2003-04 - Rudolph Leibel
2002-03 - Barbara Barlow
2001-02 - Anne Gershon
2000-01 - Myron L. Weisfeldt
1999-00 - Alan R. Tall
1998-99 - Donald Klein
1997-98 - Richard Mayeux
1996-97 - Herbert D. Kleber
1995-96 - Leonard Chess
1994-95 - Eric A. Rose
1993-94 - Harold C. Neu
1992-93 - Nancy S. Wexler
1991-92 - J. Thomas Bigger
1990-91 - Robert Canfield
1989-90 - I. Bernard Weinstein
1988-89 - Qais Al-Awqati
1987-88 - Lewis P. Rowland
1986-87 - L. Stanley James
1985-86 - DeWitt Goodman
1984-85 - Salvatore Di Mauro
1983-84 - Arthur Bank
1982-83 - Keith Reemtsma
1981-82 - Robert Mellins

back to top

CUMC Home | © Columbia University | Affiliated with New York-Presbyterian Hospital | Comments | Text-Only Version