CUMC Home | Columbia University | Jobs at CUMC | Contact CUMC | Find People
Columbia University Medical Center logo,Positioning Line Discover. Educate. Care. Lead., image for New York Skyline  

The Dean's Lecture Series
Alexander Ming Fisher Lecture

Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Basic Sciences

The Cartwright Lecture
past events

Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Clinical Sciences

David Seegal Alpha Omega Alpha Visiting Professorship Lecture

Heidelberger-Kabat Lecture

Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Humanities

Innovation in Biological and Medical Sciences Distinguished Lecture

Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize Lecture

Samuel Rudin Distinguished Visiting Professorship Lecture

Thomas Q. Morris Symposia

Other Special Lectures and Events

Previous lectures:

Lecture Videos



The Cartwright Lecture

The Cartwright lectureship was established in the late 1870s through a bequest from Benjamin A. Cartwright of Newark, NJ to the Alumni Association of the College of Physicians and Surgeons (P&S). In his will, Mr. Cartwright stated that he wished to institute a course of lectures "modeled after the Lettsonian or Croonian Lectures of England"—formal occasions that featured important summaries of existing medical knowledge or, in some cases, reports of cutting-edge investigations in medicine or surgery. The lectures were given regularly from 1881 until World War I, at which time they were discontinued indefinitely.

In 1928, the P&S Alumni Association transferred the Cartwright fund directly to the College, with the recommendation that the bequest remain untouched until the fund could accrue enough to support a lecture series of the highest quality and distinction, in keeping with what Mr. Cartwright had originally indicated and envisioned. Five decades later—and nearly a century after Mr. Cartwright's passing—this long-time goal was finally realized with the reinstatement of a new and improved lecture series in 1974.

The Cartwright lecture series has since become a major forum for the exchange of scientific knowledge, attracting scholars, researchers, and clinicians from the world's premier medical, scientific, educational, and policymaking institutions to speak and participate (among them: top officials from the National Academy of Sciences and the National Institutes of Health, one United States Senator, and numerous Nobel Laureates).

Available Videos:
Speaker: David Ho, M.D.
Lecture Date: June 28, 2012
Lecture Title: "Passive Immunization Approach to HIV Prevention"

2017-2018 EVENTS

Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD

Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD, P&S '66
James B. Duke Professor of Medicine
Professor of Biochemistry and Chemistry
Duke University Medical Center
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

"Seven Transmembrane Receptors"

November 13, 2017
4:30 p.m.
Alumni Auditorium
650 West 168th Street

Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD, is James B. Duke Professor of Medicine and Professor of Biochemistry and Chemistry at the Duke University Medical Center. He has been an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute since 1976. Dr. Lefkowitz began his research career in the late 1960s and early 1970s, when there was no clear consensus that receptors even existed. His group spent 15 years developing techniques for radioligand binding, solubilization, purification, and reconstitution of the four adrenergic receptors known at the time. In 1986, Dr. Lefkowitz transformed the understanding of what had become known as G protein coupled receptors (GPCRs) when he and his colleagues cloned the gene and cDNA for the β2 adrenergic receptor and recognized its sequence homology with rhodopsin, thus establishing them as the first members of a new family of proteins, the Seven Transmembrane Receptors (7TMRs). This superfamily is now known to be the largest, most diverse, and most therapeutically accessible. Dr. Lefkowitz's lab also discovered and cloned the G protein coupled receptor kinases (GRKs) and β-arrestins which mediate receptor desensitization and discovered ''biased'' signaling through β-arrestins or G proteins. Most recently, he has been applying the tools of structural biology to understand biased signaling at atomic level resolution. He has received numerous awards and honors, including the National Medal of Science, the Shaw Prize, the Albany Prize, and the 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1988, the Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine) in 1994, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1988. He is a 1966 graduate of Columbia University's College of Physicians and Surgeons.


2015 Helen Hobbs, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
2014 Richard W. Tsien, DPhil, NYU School of Medicine
2013 Sydney Brenner, PhD, CH, FRS Salk Institute
2012 David D. Ho, M.D., The Rockefeller University
2010 David M. Oshinsky, Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
2008 Bert Sakmann, M.D., Max-Planck Institute for Medical Research
2004 Sir Paul Nurse, Rockefeller University
2003 Dr. Susumu Tonegawa, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2002 Dr. Elaine Fuchs, University of Chicago
2001 Dr. Elizabeth Blackburn, University of California at San Francisco
2000 Dr. Judah Folkman, Harvard Medical School
1997 Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan, State of New York
1996 Dr. Norman E. Shumway, Stanford University
1995 Dr. Bruce M. Alberts, National Academy of Sciences
1993 Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, National Institutes of Health
1992 Dr. Joseph L. Goldstein, University of Texas, Dallas
1991 Dr. W. French Anderson, National Institutes of Health
1990 Dr. Daniel E. Koshland, Jr., University of California, Berkeley
1989 Dr. David Baltimore, The Whitehead Institute
1988 Dr. Luc Montagnier, Pasteur Institute
1987 Dr. Michael J. Bishop, Univ. of California, San Francisco
1986 Sir Bernard Katz, University College, London
1985 Dr. George Palade, Yale University
1984 Dr. Matthew Stanley Meselson, Harvard University
1983 Dr. Arnold Relman, New England Journal of Medicine
1982 Dr. D. Carleton Gajdusek, National Institutes of Health
1981 Dr. Joshua Lederberg, Rockefeller University
1980 Sir Peter Medawar, Clinical Research Center, Harrow
1979 Dr. DeWitt Stetten, Jr., National Institutes of Health
1978 Dr. John R. Hogness, University of Washington
1977 Dr. George L. Engel, University of Rochester
1976 Sir George White Pickering, Oxford University
1975 Dr. Charles B. Huggins, University of Chicago
1974 Dr. Paul B. Beeson, Oxford University
1916 Prof. Richard Mills Pearce, Philadelphia
1912 Dr. Ludwig Aschoff, Freiburg, Germany
1910 Dr. Adolf Magnus Levy, University of Berlin
1908 James Ewing, Cornell University
1906 Baron Kanehiro Takaki, Surgeon General, Japanese Navy
1904 Baron Kanehiro Takaki, Surgeon General, Japanese Navy
1902 Dr. Richard Cabot, Boston
1900 Prof. John G. Curtis, Columbia University
1898 Prof. William W. Keen, Jefferson Medical College
1896 Prof. George H. Huntington, Columbia University
1894 Prof. Russell H. Chittenden, Yale University
1892 Prof. Henry Fairfield Osborne, Columbia University
1890 Dr. John S. Billings, United States Army
1888 Prof. William H. Welch, Johns Hopkins University
1886 Prof. William Osler, University of Pennsylvania
1884 Prof. Burt G. Wilder, Cornell University
1883 Prof. W.T. Belfield, Rush Medical College, Chicago
1882 Prof. John C. Dalton, College of Physicians and Surgeons
1881 Prof. Robert Bartholow, Jefferson Medical College

back to top

CUMC Home | © Columbia University | Affiliated with New York-Presbyterian Hospital | Comments | Text-Only Version