division of critical care

Welcome to the Division of Critical Care Medicine in the Department of Anesthesiology.

We Care

Our group of intensivists is passionate about providing excellent, cutting edge, and evidence based care to the most vulnerable of surgical patients. Alongside our nurses, pharmacists, social workers, nutritionists, physical therapists, respiratory therapists, and consultants, our team works hard to take care of patients in three intensive care units (SICU and 2 CTICUs). Our group has the unique set of skills to manage nearly 3000 patients each year after cardiac, lung, liver, pancreas transplantation, insertion of mechanical circulatory devices (ECMO, VAD) and pulmonary thromboendarterectomy with complex disease process ranging from sepsis to acute respiratory distress syndrome.

We Lead

We have an amazing team who make our work place better. Our leaders are leaders in liver anesthesia, education, respiratory therapy, ultrasonography, and global health and guide us in our mission to take care of the critically ill.


Our multidisciplinary Division team members include:

Tricia Brentjens, MD (Chief, Division of Liver Transplant Anesthesia; Director PACU)
Daniela Darrah, MD
Monica Goldklang, MD (Pulmonology)
Lisa Hasenbalg (Critical Care Medicine, Program Coordinator)
Jonathan Hastie. MD (Assistant Residency Director, Associate Director of the CTICU)
Beth Hochman.MD (Surgery)
May Hua, MD,
Desmond Jordan. MD
David Kiamanesh, MD
Steven Miller, MD (Director of Respiratory Therapy, Columbia University Medical Center)
Vivek Moitra, MD (Chief, Division of Critical Care Medicine (CTICU/SICU), Program Director, Critical Care Medicine Fellowship)
Teresa Mulaikal, MD (Director, Medical Student Clerkship)
Oliver Panzer, MD (Director of Perioperative Ultrasonography)
Amanda Powers, MD
Cortessa Russell, MD
Peter Salgo. MD
Julia Sobol. MD, MPH (Director, Global Health Fellowship)
Emily Vail. MD
Gebhard Wagener, MD (Chief, Division of Vascular Anesthesia)
Paul Weyker, MD

We Educate

We have a mission to educate the next generation of anesthesiologists and intensivists. In the spirit of Columbia’s history of innovation, we believe that our education should be intensive, inspiring, interactive, and innovative. Our teaching experience embraces all aspects of critical care, including placement and management of invasive hemodynamic monitors, invasive and non-invasive ultrasound, ventilator management, renal replacement therapy, use of drug infusion techniques, nutritional support, infectious disease control and medical ethics.

We value education and the educational development of our faculty. Six of our faculty members have been voted Teacher of the Year by our residents and two faculty members have been elected into the prestigious Columbia University Apgar Academy of Medical Educators.






Anesthesiology residents spend a minimum of four months in critical care during their PGY-1 through PGY-4 years. 
 During their PGY-1 year, anesthesiology residents spend 8 weeks in SICU, working alongside surgery PGY-1 residents. When they return for another 4 weeks in the SICU and CTICU in their PGY-2 year, they act as “Senior-Juniors” and supervise the anesthesiology and surgery PGY-1 residents. In the SICU the teaching emphasis is on the fundamentals of critical care, acute pain management, nutritional support and management of sepsis.

During their PGY-3 year, anesthesiology residents spend 4 weeks in CTICU, work alongside PGY-2 surgery residents, physician assistants and acute care nurse practitioners. In CTICU the teaching emphasis is on the complex hemodynamic and ventilatory management of postoperative cardiac surgical patients.

We offer PGY-4 residents the opportunity to do a 4-week elective in critical care, in SICU or CTICU or both. The PGY-4 residents work as Junior Fellows and together with the ACCM Fellows supervise and teach PGY-1 through PGY-3 residents, and share the call coverage with the ICU Fellows.

Critical Care Educational Activities for Residents

ICU Teaching Conference (“ICU 101”):
Every Monday, Tuesday and Friday 1:30 - 2:30 p.m.
Venue: SICU Conference Room, Milstein Hospital 4th Floor.
Conference Schedule Coordinator: David Kiamanesh, MD
The ICU Faculty, Fellows, pharmacists or nutritionists present a one-hour tutorial to the ICU residents and medical students. This conference provides didactic coverage of the ICU Core Curriculum to supplement rounds and bedside teaching.

Critical Care Grand Rounds (CCGR):
Every Thursday 3:00 - 4:00 p.m., September through June.
Venue: Heart Center, 1st Floor, Conference Rooms 1 & 2.
Conference Schedule Coordinator: Vivek Moitra, MD, FCCM
Critical Care Grand Rounds is a weekly conference open to all staff at CUMC; the common denominator is an interest in critical care medicine. The audience includes faculty and house staff, nursing staff, therapists, pharmacists and medical students. Lectures are presented by Columbia University Faculty and Visiting Professors who are experts in critical care and related fields.

We Discover

Over the past year, our Division has been honored for embracing a sense of discovery with funding in
Palliative care
Lung injury
Smoking and Ion channels
Medication errors
Education in crisis resource management
Ultrasound simulation

We value discovery and want to share it with the broader medical community.


We welcome you to contact us.

For further information, contact:
Lisa A. Hasenbalg
Executive Assistant
Division of Critical Care
Department of Anesthesiology, PH 527-B
College of Physicians & Surgeons of Columbia University
630 West 168th St, New York NY 10032
Tel: 212-305-8633

Columbia University Medical Center Department of Anesthesiology